Poetry with Punch!

jq show socks

For years and years people have said to me ‘A poet and a boxer? What an odd combination.’

So I’ve decided to do just that – combine them!

I always looked at myself as a ‘poet by day, boxer by night’ but over the past 12 months I have been taking my boxing knowhow in to my poetry workshops (when requested.)

As a former Young Poet Laureate of Birmingham and a qualified Amateur Boxing Association (ABA) boxing coach the main purpose of bringing these two contrasting art forms together is to help break stereotypes, install discipline and build confidence. So the first 3 (ish) hours of the day are dedicated to writing poetry, rhyming and performance like any of my usual workshops. The final hour or two after lunch however is dedicated to boxing. I run a Boxercise session with the class and teach them the basics and fundamentals of boxing whilst always drawing comparisons from the mornings poetry session such as rhythm, repetition and juxtaposition.

If you would like a more in depth discussion about this workshop or if you believe that something like this would be beneficial for your class then please don’t hesitate to get in touch. Testimonials will be added soon!

Leave a Reply

